In March 2015  students nominated staff for a range of awards from Most Innovative Lecturer to Professional Staff Award – for more information on the award categories click here.

In April an awards panel session was held, made up of staff and students across all faculties to choose the winners and runners up for each award.

Listed below are the Staff winners and runners-up for the Learning and Teaching Awards


And the 2015 Winners are:

Best Assessment and Feedback Award

Winner: Mark Williams (FASS)

Runner-up: Helen Potkin (FADA)

Runner-up: Dhaya Perumal (SEC)

Runner-up: Anna Faherty (FADA)


Best Project/Dissertation Supervisor Award

Winner: Dhaya Perumal (SEC)

Runner-up: Alice Beard (FADA)


Best Tutor of Postgraduates Award

Winner: Buddhika Abeysekera (HSCE)

Runner-up: Muthanna Samara (FASS)

Runner-up: Alison Baverstock (FASS)


Developing Student Employability

Winner: Phil Hudson (SEC)

Runner-up: Azadeh Moaveni (FASS)


Most Innovative Lecturer Award

Winner: Sonya Sharma (FASS)

Runner-up: Nick Freestone (SEC)

Runner-up:  Corin Depper (FASS)


Most Innovative Use of Technology

Winner: John Fletcher (SEC)

Runner-up: Nicholas Lock (HSCE)

Runner-up: Karen Whiting (SEC)


Personal Support Award

Winner: Ian Beadham (SEC)

Runner-up: Dhaya Perumal (SEC)

Runner-up: Ian Piper (SEC)

Runner-up: Sue Rush and her skills team: Terry Firth, Suchita Hathiramani, Jo Low, Emily Marron, Andrew Perkins, Francina Hyatt, Karen Elliott, Annie Tibbles, and Rosi Castle (HSCE)


Personal Tutor

Winner: Gianpiero Calabrese (SEC)

Runner-up: Clare Conway (FADA)

Runner-up: Dhaya Perumal (SEC)


Professional Staff Award

Winner: Michelle Morgan (SEC)

Runner-up: Mandy Gough (HSCE)


Supporting the Student Voice Awards

Winner: Paul Newcombe (HSCE)

Runner-up: Kenisha Linton (B&L)

Runner-up: Sinead Keegan (FASS)


The “Other” Award

Winner: Peter Finn FASS

Runner-up: Helen Julia Minors (FASS)

Runner-up: Karen Whiting (SEC)