Winners and Runners-up of the Student-led Learning and Teaching Awards

In March 2014 students nominated staff for a range of awards from Most Innovative Lecturer to Professional Staff Award – for more information on the award categories click here.

In April 2014 an awards panel session was held, made up of staff and students across all faculties to choose the winners and runners up for each award.

Listed below are the Staff winners and runners-up for the Learning and Teaching Awards


And the 2014 Winners are:

Developing Student Employability Award
1              Susan Scotcher, Winner               
2              Judith Watts and Anne Faherty, Runners Up

Best Supervisor Award
1              Frederic Vallee-Tourangeau, Winner
2              Natasha Hill, Runner Up
3              Julie Hendry, Runner Up
4              Heidi Dawson, Special Commendation

Student Voice Award
1              Kara Wescombe, Winner
2              Paul Postle, Runner Up

Best Assessment and Feedback Award
1              Amanda Latimer, Winner
2              Sharon Young, Runner Up

Best Teacher of Postgraduates
1              Hossein Ashrafi, Winner
2              Ben Laker, Runner Up

Professional Staff Award
1              Steff Jamieson, Winner
2              Andrew Nasrat, Runner Up

Personalised Support Award
1              Paul Dixon, Winner
2              Bruno Silvestre, Runner Up
3              Phil Carver, Runner Up

Most Innovative Teacher Award
1              Hope Caton, Winner
2              Nicholas Freestone, Runner Up

Most Innovative Use of Technology Award
1              James Denholm-Price, Winner

The Other Award (award title is created by the nominator)
1              Paul Newcombe, Winner – Most Supportive Lecturer
2              Karen Butcher, Runner Up – Most Helpful LRC Member
3              Juliet Dukes, Runner Up – Best All Rounder
4              Ali Shamsavari, Shortlisted – The Loveliest Teacher Award